Tigers cup Spirit of Sport Awards 2011

Soca Super Star Machel Montano presents the people’s choice award Coach Nigel Grovsner who accepted the award on behalf of the St. Anthony’s Football Team.

The Spirit of Sport Awards is the tangible manifestion of a vision by the Honourable Anil Roberts Minister of Sport to create a recognition platform that acknowledges and honours all of Sport’s major stakeholders. This awards function encompasses and recognises all levels of sport and its many contributors. While there are several awards programmes that recognise many of our nation’s elite athletes this will be a national platform to honour those key individuals and organisations involved in the growth and development of sport from the grass roots or base level right up to Elite Performance.

The Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago  in conjunction with the Ministry of Sport will be staging the inaugural Spirit of Sport Awards on December 28th at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad. This made for Television event will be broadcast on a leading terrestrial TV Channel and will celebrate the most significant achievements in sport for the past year.  Trinidad and Tobago most decorated Olympic Medallist Ato Boldon will serve as  host for the  event.

The Launch was held on Monday December 12th at the Hyatt Regency where all the nominees in all the categories were announced and winners declared in 6 Categories.

The WINNERS Are…….

Community Champion

  • Allan Ramjass – Carapichima – WINNER
  • Kennick Suepaul – “Teacher Kenty” – Sangre Grande
  • Preston Nanan – San Fernando

Sport Journalist of the Year (Print)

  • Johnathan Ramnansingh – Newsday
  • Kwame Lawrence – Trinidad Express – WINNER
  • Kern De Freitas – Trinidad Express
  • Stephen Nicolas – Newsday

Sport Journalist of the Year (Electronic Media)

  • Astil Ren – CNC3
  • Jovan Ravello – CCN TV6
  • Mark- Anthony Scott – Wi SPORTS
  • Paul Montano – CCN TV6- WINNER

Sport Photo of the Year

  • Anthony Harris; Trinidad Guardian – “Bout”- WINNER
  • Roger Jacob; Newday – “Victory”
  • Azlan Mohammed; Newsday – “Buss Throat”
  • Anthony Harris; Trinidad Guardian – “Going for Goal”

Coach Manager

  • Marjorie Thomas – T&T Women’s Cricket Association – WINNER
  • Bharrath Ramoutar – Trinidad and Tobago Kickboxing Federation
  • Ivan Flores Rodriguez – National Basketball Federation of T&T

Most Consistent Performer

  • Monifa Sealy – Golf
  • Kelly Ann Baptiste – Track and Field
  • Anisa Mohammed – Cricket – WINNER

Community Group

  • San Fernando Sports Academy
  • Paradise Hill Women in Action Group (Blanchisseuse)
  • Roxborough Police Youth Club – WINNER

Community Sport Programme

  • Waterloo Institute of Soccer Players – (Football) Saturday Sports Camp & Elite Players Programme – WINNER
  • Orange Field Sports Club Cricket Clinic – Cricket Development Programme
  • San Fernando Sports Academy – Future Football Stars Programme

Corporate Champion

  • Republic Bank Limited – RBL
  • Atlantic LNG – WINNER
  • First Citizens Bank Limited

Athlete Philanthropist

  • Brian Lara – WINNER
  • Daren Ganga
  • Kenwyn Jones

Comeback Performance

  • Derrick Mundy –Karate
  • Lendl Simmons – Cricket – WINNER
  • T&T Ladies Golf Team – Golf

Breakthrough Athlete/Team

  • Anisa Mohammed – Cricket – WINNER
  • Kelly Ann Baptiste – Track and Field
  • Semoy Hacket – Track and Field

Record Breaking Performance

  • Samuel Badree – Cricket
  • Ronald Carlos Greene – Powerlifting
  • Anisa Mohammed – Cricket – WINNER
  • Athlete with a Disability (Physical)
  • Shanntol Annette Ince – Aquatics (Swimming)
  • Dwight Yearwood – Track and Field Long Distance Running
  • Carlos Greene – Power Lifting & Track and Field (Shot put)

Athlete with a Disability (Intellectual)

  • Makiba Baptiste- Aquatics (Swimming)
  • Nikoli Lalla – Aquatics (Swimming)
  • Shaddai Simon – Equestrian – WINNER

Athlete with a Disability (Physical)

  • Carlos Greene, Powerlifting – WINNER

Lifetime Achievement

  • Rodney Wilkes – WINNER


  • 4x 100 Women’s Relay Team – CAC Championships; Puerto Rico
  • National Power lifting Team
  • 4x 100 Women’s Relay Team – IAAF World Championships; Daegu – South Korea – WINNER
  • National Senior Women’s Basketball Team

Male Athlete

  • Darren Bravo – Cricket – WINNER
  • Njisane Phillips – Cycling
  • Richard Thompson – Track and Field
  • Roger Daniel –Shooting

Female Athlete

  • Monifa Sealy – Golf
  • Anisa Mohammed – Cricket
  • Kelly Ann Baptiste – Track and Field – WINNER
  • Breana Stampfli – Tennis

Personality of the Year (People’s Choice)

  • Kelly Ann Baptiste
  • St Anthony’s College Football Team – WINNER
  • Carlos Green
  • Anisa Mohammed
  • Performance of the Year
  • Quincy Alexander – Cycling
  • Kelly Ann Baptiste – Track and Field
  • Anisa Mohammed – Cricket
  • Roger Daniel – Shooting
  • Njisane Phillips – Cycling

Community Team

  • Matura Re: United Football Club (FC) (Senior Team) – Football – WINNER
  • FC Santa Rosa Under 15 Boy Team – Football
  • Manta Ray Swim Club (Diego Martin) Swim Team – Swimming

Fan of the Year

  • Allyson Hennessey (award to be named after her henceforth) – WINNER

Sport Performance of the Year

  • Kelly Ann Baptiste, Athletics

Community Coach

  • Earl Eton Carvor Bourne – WINNER
    Bon Air – Arouca Community – Air Bon Sonics Athletic Club – Athletics
  • Terrance Boissiere
    Marabella Community – Marabella Family Crisis Football Club – Football
  • Ulric Haynes
    Tacarigua Community – Ulric “Buggy” Haynes Coaching School – Football and Cricket

Sport Educator
A teacher, working at primary or secondary level, who has made a significant contribution to the knowledge and practice of sport and physical education,

  • Judith Ann Robertson- Daniel – WINNER
    Physical Education Teacher El Dorado East Secondary School – London 2012 International Inspirational Tutor and Lead Trainer..
  • Colin Thompson
    Hockey Coach and Chemistry Teacher – South East Port of Spain Secondary School (Nelson Street).
  • Ramroop Thomas
    Physical Education Teacher – Salybia Government Primary School.


Best Performing School

  • Toco Secondary School
    Champions National Secondary Schools Track and Field (Relays, 5k Cross Country)
    Winner Mayaro 5K 2010 and in girls division 2011
    School has a mentoring programme for primary school children through track and field training programme that targets primary school students. This allows for an easier social transition from primary to secondary for children involved in the programme.
  • Shiva Boys’ Hindu College – WINNER
    Excellent performances in SSFL (Football) championship division (Placements in National, Regional in Senior and U 16 Divisions)
    Podium Placements in Secondary National Track and Field Tournament
    Winner of Two Additional Scholarships
  • Santa Flora Government Primary
    Football – Erin Zone 2011 Champions
    District 2011 Champions
    National Champions 2011
    Winner MVP- Denzil Smith (Student)
    Winner Most Goals Scored – Mickel Charles (21 Goals)

Emerging Athlete

  • Michelle Lee Ahye – Track and Field (Pan Am Junior Gold Medallist 100m)
  • Felcia Walters – Cricket (Selected for T&T Senior Team and West Indies A team, scored 394 runs and took 37 wickets in the 2011 season)
  • Quincy Alexander – Cycling (PanAm Gold Medallist Match Sprint- Ranked #1 Junior in the World in the match sprint event) – WINNER